Archive | January 22, 2010

Miracles…

Have you ever stopped to think about the miracle of life?

If you have children, I am sure you have at one point or another, but maybe your children are older and you haven’t taken the time lately to stop and realize.

I was lucky enough today to have a miracle moment. I dear friend of mine from my work (she actually works in another location but we talk often) came to my location for a monthly meeting. This friend is pregnant with her 2nd child, a boy, and is due in 5 days. She has a high risk pregnancy and today at the meeting she was saying that she went to the obstatrician yesterday and her blood pressure was elevated. She went on to say that she felt badly today as well.

When the meeting was over she, another coworker and I went to lunch. (We went to Mexico!) We had a lovely chat while eating our nachos and cheese dip and entrees. When we left I gave her a hug and wished her luck as I probably wouldn’t see her before she has her bundle.

About 4 hours later, as I was leaving work, I checked Facebook on my iPhone and saw this same friend was at the hospital awaiting an operating room to deliver her baby (via c-section)!! Four hours go we were eating, laughing and talking….4 hours later she will have a new human in her arms! It is a breathtaking thought.

This is not the first miracle moment that I have had in the last 3 weeks, either. A girl who works for me was pregnant with her first baby, a daughter. This strong lady stayed at work until the last minute. She was at work in the morning, left at noon for her obstration appointment, then I got a text at 2am stating that she was heading to the hospital cause her water broke (in her hubbys truck on the way to the hospital!) By 7am, her baby girl was here. At noon, I went to see her at lunch. As I held that 4 hour old baby, I thought, this is the little thing that I felt kicking her mommys tummy so hard yesterday morning!!!

How cool is that? One minute there is a baby bump, the next minute there is a living, breathing, beautiful human being.

At my place of employment, there have been 4 babies born since December, then the one today will make 5. In the coming months, two more will be born to ladies at my location (late April and early June) then more at another location over the summer. 3 others at my location are actively trying to get pregnant. You can bet that I do not drink the water at my company!! Babies, babies everywhere, plenty to hold and coo at. I am done having babies but I can be present and supportive for my friends and love on their sweet babies all I want!!!

Life. It is a miracle!! Think about it.

Happy Wandering…